OIE main website


Copyright © OIE
World Organisation
for Animal Health
Editorial Director :



OIE Sub-Regional Representation for Southern Africa


The OIE Sub-Regional Representation for Southern Africa was established in 2005 in Gaborone (Botswana) to cover all 16 member countries of, as well as to liaise with the regional economic community, the Southern African Development Community (SADC), which also has its headquarters in Gaborone. The SADC member countries are : Angola, Botswana, Comoros (since 2017), the Democratic Republic of Congo, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

The office became operational on January 1st, 2006 when the Sub-Regional Representative was appointed. It was at the time, the first sub-regional representation established by the OIE. .

Sub-Regional Representative

Dr Moetapele Letshwenyo


  Programme Officer (AMR)

Dr Olafur Valsson


  Programme Officer (Rabies)

Dr Tenzin Tenzin


Administrative and financial assistant

Mr Kebaneilwe Mpedi



Mrs. Nomsa Thekiso


Please click the map to find us in Gaborone ( Ministry of Agriculture )

Click to enlarge

24° 39' 34.43" South    25 ° 54' 23.61" East



(c) OIE / M. Samson (2018)

(c) OIE / M. Samson (2016)

(c) OIE / M. Samson (2013)

(c) OIE/ P. Bastiaensen (2009)




Sub-Regional Representation for Southern Africa

Ministry of Agriculture,
Plot 4701
Mmaraka Road,
Gaborone, Botswana

P.o.box 25662
Gaborone, Botswana
Tel. : (267) 391 44 24
Fax : (267) 391 44 17


Legal disclaimer : the maps presented on this website provide no more than a broad indication of the country's geographical location. They are not designed to represent detail, and they should not be considered an authority on the delimitation of boundaries.

(c) 01.10.2008 - 18.06.2019          contact the webmaster at  
  Flag Counter