WWD 2022

OIE Webinar "Global Wildlife Health", connecting wildlife health stakeholders globally

World Wildlife Day aims to celebrate and raise awareness of the world’s wild animals and plants. In 2022, the OIE organised a webinar across five regions and in twelve different time zones, connecting wildlife health stakeholders globally. The webinar was held in two sessions—eastern hemisphere and western hemisphere—and the three official OIE languages (English, French and Spanish).

The OIE is addressing challenges involving wildlife health through implementation of the OIE Wildlife Health Framework. We look to the global community to protect wildlife health to achieve One Health. Towards this goal, the OIE Regional Representation in Asia and the Pacific, in association with the OIE Sub-Regional Representation for Eastern Africa and the OIE Regional Representation for the Americas, organised a webinar on “Global wildlife health” on World Wildlife Day on 3 March 2022.

 

The event was broadcast on Zoom® with livestreaming on YouTube® and was attended by more than 350 participants. The target audience consisted of multi-sectoral participants with an interest in wildlife health, in particular university students and young professionals.

Thursday 3 March 2022

  • Session 1 (in English and French)
    at 2am Buenos Aires / 6am Paris / 8am Nairobi / 2pm Tokyo 
  • Session 2 (in English, French and Spanish)
    at 11am Buenos Aires / 3pm Paris / 5pm Nairobi / 11pm Tokyo

Agenda

 

Welcome            Dr Lesa Thompson, OIE Regional Representation for Asia and the Pacific, Tokyo

Special message  (YouTube)  Dr. Jane Goodall, DBE, Founder of the Jane Goodall Institute, UN Messenger of Peace

 

                                                                        Dr Jane Goodall

Spotlight on the World Organisation for Animal Health (OIE)        [Chair: Lesa Thompson]

Wildlife health globe-trotting      [Chair: Patrick Bastiaensen]

  • Session introduction
    Dr Patrick Bastiaensen, OIE Sub-Regional Representation for Eastern Africa, Nairobi
  • Asia and the Pacific
    Dr Hirofumi Kugita, OIE Regional Representative for Asia and the Pacific, Tokyo
  • African swine fever in wild pigs in Asia and the Pacific (06)
    Dr Brendan Cowled, Executive Consultant and Director, AusVet, Canberra
  • Middle East
    Dr Ghazi Yehia, OIE Regional Representative for the Middle East, Beirut
  • Peste des petits ruminants (PPR) in wildlife in the Middle East (08)
    Dr Ahmad Al-Majali, Jordan University of Science and Technology, Al Ramtha, ‎Irbid‎
  • Europe
    Dr Budimir Plavsic, OIE Regional Representative for Europe, Moscow
  • Rabies in wildlife in Europe (10)
    Dr. Maxim Sîrbu, National Food Safety Agency, Republic of Moldova, Chișinău

Break

  • Africa
    Dr Karim Tounkara, OIE Regional Representative for Africa, Bamako
  • Anthrax in wildlife in Africa (12)
    Dr Augusta Kivunzya, Kitui County Veterinary Services, Kenya Zoonotic Diseases Unit, Nairobi
  • Americas
    Dr Luis Barcos, OIE Regional Representative for the Americas, Buenos Aires
  • White nose syndrome in the Americas (14)
    Dr Jordi Segers, Scientific Coordinator Bats, Canadian Wildlife Health Cooperative, Halifax

Ecosystem health and biodiversity     [Chair: Maria-Eugenia Chimenti]

  • Ecosystem health for biodiversity (15)
    Dr Marcela Uhart, University of California Davis, OIE Working Group for Wildlife, Davis
  • Interactive session          Mentimeter® participant opinions & questions

Closing remarks (YouTube) Dr Monique Eloit, OIE Director General, OIE headquarters, Paris

Close     Dr Maria-Eugenia Chimenti, OIE Regional Representation for the Americas, Buenos Aires

Dr Monique Eloit

Stream the Zoom recordings of the webinar in English for session 1 (eastern hemissphere, broadcast from Tokyo) above and in English for session 2 (western hemissphere, broadcast from Buenos Aires) below:

Share this post